Modded Mustang Forums banner

97 Cobra Project

9K views 57 replies 16 participants last post by  akurma 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, im new to the 4v/SVT section of the forums but have been around the 99-04 section for a while. I recently picked up a 1997 cobra that needs some loving here's the 97 cobra i recently picked up cheap... it's got some issues lol but i don't plan on keeping the car i plan to fix it over the winter, driver it for a bit and sell it come spring/summer time. Ill take better pictures soon, it's always dark when i get home from work, Anyways here is the rundown

the good

- 1997 Pacific Green Cobra
- Clean title
- 138,617 miles
- Seemingly rust free
- BBk intake, Jet MAF, BBK 65mm TB, BBK long tube headers, MSD plug wires, catted midpipe (can't remember if its a H or X), and some sort of cat back
- Found a steering wheel cover, motorcraft oil filter, 4qts motorcraft synthetic blend oil and two jugs of coolant in the trunk! (These could be warnings of possible issues i guess)

The bad

- Needs driver side headlight (lens is cracked)
- Need to remove all the stickers lol
- Needs rear quarter fixed
- Needs clutch
- Needs steering column (will go more into that later on)
- Needs PA state inspection & Emission
- Find & fix exhaust leak
- Front and rear bumpers could use a respray
- Small hole in driver side seat
- Hood latch sticks horribly
- Hood is loose and zip tied on... :shiftyeyes
- Weak, yet new battery

See less See more
#2 ·
Favorite color

#4 ·
Yes its a very rare color and very sought after.

#8 ·
Thanks! And my family owns a body shop so i have all the tools & knowledge to fix it. It looks like i can repair it without having to cut the quarter out of the car, which would save me a TON of time. if not a used rear quarter is cheap and ill end up cutting it out, but check back and you'll see how i end up doing it ;)

#10 ·