Modded Mustang Forums banner

PINION GEAR IS STUCK

5K views 22 replies 8 participants last post by  WickedSnake00 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I really need some help, this is my first time doing this. I have trued literally everything. The pinion gear is stuck. I dropped the drive shaft, removed the carrier, took off the pinion flange nut. I then proceed to use a 1lb rubber mallet to pop out the pinion gear. That wasn't working. I went to the store and got a 4lb sledge and some 3 jaw pullers. The 3 jaw pullers would not attach to the head of the gar from inside the housing.

I then saw a video where they used a 2 jaw puller to remove the actual flange from the gear and then used the hammer to knock out the gear. I attached a 3 jaw puller to the flange and it got rather tight. i kept going and the jaw puller popped off. I put it back on, tightened it and hit it with a hammer for leverage. All this and the gear is still in the housing and spinning. Its getting hot out here in Las Vegas, and I am taking care of my newborn son with no sleep. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

---------- Post added at 01:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:54 PM ----------

The 3 jaw puller I am using just keeps spinning the gear. no matter what i do to stop it from spinning the yoke just wont pop off

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm confused, do you have the pinion flange off yet? The pinion should easily come out after the flange is removed.

If you're stuck on the pinion flange, you need to make a tool out of some angle iron or something similar. Drill two holes in it that line up with the driveshaft bolts and use that as a lever to keep it from spinning. You're going to need this for reassembly as well.

#3 ·