Modded Mustang Forums banner

1997 Mustang V6 3.8 Overheating issues

23K views 30 replies 10 participants last post by  izzy1111 
#1 ·
Ok I need some help hopefully this will help. I am new to joining a forum but i have searched on here several times before I joined and found answers. I have a 1997 v6 3.8 mustang, of course a work in progress but I love my car and this is the 3rd one I've owned. Here the deal about a month ago my car overheated and I was in tacobell drive through and I freaked because I smelled antifreeze and saw the smoke from it overflowing, I have replaced my thermostat, fan motor, had a system flush, my antifreeze is actually a little past the full point in the overflow tank, I have bled the coolant system, and my car is still overheating, now the fan just doesn't kick on until it gets extremly hot on the letter L on the temperature gauge. if I run my ac 90% of the time it stays pretty cool. But I want to get this fixed ASAP because I don't have the money right now to replace an engine as much as I would like a 5.0. I have read a couple things online but I can only do as much as I can afford. Anyone have any ideas?

#2 ·
it could be a ccrm or a fan, or it could also be something else completly.

start the car, run the a/c, and use a test light to probe the red wire on the 2pin connector going to the fan.

if you have power, confirm that you also have ground at the black wire.
if there is 12v & ground at the connector, the fan is bad.

if you do not have power, you need to back probe your way back to the battery. a stuck open relay in the CCRM would be the likely cause for no power to the fan.

if you do not have ground, you'll need to back probe the harness to where the ground goes.

#3 ·