2.3 Turbo RWD Probe - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old March 15th, 2007, 06:58 PM Thread Starter

2.3 Turbo RWD Probe

hi guys newbie here, im on the crazy idea of transfering the whole drivetrain from a 88 TC to a 96 Probe, i know is crazy but it can be done, i have a 88 GT chassis that i saved from been thrown away guessing it would help me to do my frankenstein as my dad calls it
any ideas or suggestions will be apreciatted... will it be better to just put the probes body on the mustang floor or just make the tunnel in the probe?? thank you for your time...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old March 15th, 2007, 08:12 PM
I Post Entirely Way Too Much

Send a message via AIM to TurboLX
crap.....cant delete
next post

1988 LX Coupe 2.5L, GT35R, 44mm WG, 32psi, C16.
post #3 of 6 Old March 15th, 2007, 08:13 PM

well that would most likely result in a major mod. or another stang to the junkyard...a 2.3 should fit in the probe with minor mods, there is a guy with an 86' ecort and that has a 2.3 turbo and its FWD

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old March 16th, 2007, 12:34 PM
Priest of the Car Gods

I think that you're in for a LOT of work. I'm not suggesting against it, certainly, but you're gonna have to figure out how to make a chassis not designed to have any thing past the engine compartment now hold a transmission, and you're going to have to totally redesign the rear suspension. Are you going to go straight-axle or IRS? If you go with the live axle, are you going leaf or coil springs? 3, 4, or 5 link? The list really goes on.

I would think that your best bet is to look at this from the kit car point of view, and build yourself a rwd chassis that's designed to take the probe body. Then you can do whatever the hell you want, including going MR. With that light turbo motor running in the back and a Probe body, you would have just about the ultimate sleeper, especially in the corners.