Exhaust, Cam, injectors, intake... the lot really. - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old June 11th, 2014, 08:52 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via Skype™ to atv_123
Exhaust, Cam, injectors, intake... the lot really.

Ok, I have been on here to ask questions before, but they were just silly little problems that seem so easy to me now after all these years with this car. Now, however, it is time for me to get into the messy bits and see what I can get out of this car and that means popping on over into the world of engine mods... something I am not as familiar with. Plus most of the exhaust system needs replaced or it wont pass inspection this next time anyways... oh goody.

As far as mechanical knowledge goes, I do all of my own work on all my vehicles, so I am not afraid to get elbow deep in axle grease or learn how to do new things. I am also not afraid of doing math to try and understand how things should work. I am currently studying to be a mechanical engineer anyways, so you could consider it an educational experience.

Now I know you use specific parts to make the engine run a specific way...
I drive this thing mostly as a sports car rather than a commuter car so what I am looking to do is get a fair bit more power out of my engine in the rev band that I normally use (being able to beat the average dump truck on a hill would be nice as well)... but there is a catch. In the future I plan to convert to a 5 speed so I don't know what I will normally use. I would imagine it wouldn't change much and would still be at about 3k or so but I would need advice on that from someone who drives one every day.

What I have now and will be working with:
- Bone stock 1988 Ford Mustang LX 2.3L auto
- Has 125,000 miles on the clock
- Newish sparkplugs and wires (within the last 3 years)
- Have been changing all fluids regularly since 2009 (when I bought it)

What I am looking to get out of my engine: