ranger header - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old September 28th, 2014, 10:19 AM Thread Starter

ranger header

I have a 93 mustang lx just replaced the exhaust system and i have wanted to add a header for it because i just saw that my exhaust manifold has a crack. Ive read that a 93-96 ranger header will fit.the only thing i dont understand is the egr valve . Do i just need the piping from the ranger or will i have to do some work to make it fit.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old September 28th, 2014, 01:26 PM
Hardcore Enthusiast

Hi Tony. welcome to the forums. As a veteran engine builder, I have run many dyno tests on 2.3's and I have always seen a HP loss with the Ranger headers when compared to the factory iron manifolds. There are a lot of reasons why, but without focusing on those, I would recommend a factory 2.5 iron manifold if you can find one, if not a 2.3 one will do just fine, but weighs a pound more.

If you're looking for more HP from a header, I might suggest a long tube header. If your keeping the car relatively stock, you'd be best off with a header with 1.5" primary tubes.

I found one on Ebay that might work.

For Ford 2 3L Pinto Mustang II Stainless Exhaust Manifold Header 3" Collector | eBay

If you are looking for more HP still, then there's a whole host of items you'll want to consider.

TVS Supercharged SVO 2.7L

528 HP
561 ft lb
post #3 of 13 Old October 24th, 2014, 10:22 PM

Does that longtube header bolt on straight into a 93? N how much hp gain will i see? I have already changed my exhaust by removing the cat and putting a flowmaster 40 as well as the ranger header already installed. Also will it make my exhaust any louder?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old October 25th, 2014, 08:07 AM
Hardcore Enthusiast

Send a message via Yahoo to Mikel89us Send a message via Skype™ to Mikel89us