Lookin to buy A Fox Body and need some advice - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old June 24th, 2015, 11:27 PM Thread Starter
Regular

Lookin to buy A Fox Body and need some advice

So as the title said I'm looking for a Fox Body for a project car. I'm looking for an 86-93. I'm really a novice when it comes to working on a car, but I'm willing to learn and get my hands dirty. My budget once I buy the car will be about $1000-$2000/year for parts and upgrades assuming nothing breaks. I'm not planning to build a 9 second car. I want to build a street car that looks good inside and out and will put me back in my seat when I put my right foot down. I really only have 3 questions:

What are the common areas of rust that I should be aware of?
Is this something I should even attempt with my limited knowledge?
With my limited budget, is this attainable in my lifetime?

Thanks in advance for the info.

2015 F150 - daily
2015 Focus ST - sold
1986 Mustang Saleen clone - new to me
2013 Mustang GT - sold
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old June 25th, 2015, 09:21 AM
Enthusiast

Frame rails, floor pans, and torque boxes are all good things to inspect.

83 GT : waitinf for it's new motor
82 Capri 393, AFR headed, T56 6 speed. 4w discs, 5 lug, PH bar, Koni shocks, ect... sold
84 LX Vert 347, AOD ,
post #3 of 8 Old June 25th, 2015, 09:49 AM
Regular

You should be able to find a nice one in Florida...rust is probably not the issue down there I would think paint...clear coat peel and fade would be the isssue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old June 25th, 2015, 01:15 PM
MM Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4eyedfoxdriver View Post
Frame rails, floor pans, and torque boxes are all good things to inspect.