408w street/strip - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old December 19th, 2015, 02:06 AM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Send a message via Skype™ to maverick3429
408w street/strip

I'm new to pushrods a bit. Currently have a 4.6 boat anchor if you will lol My car is street/strip. When I say street/strip I mean its a weekend warrior. Not a daily driver. Drive around to shows and to the track.

What i'm a bit lost about is i'm trying to find a broad power curve up to about 7k rpm on a boss 351 block or a dart block which ever. I only want to spin it to 7k because I hear other engine builders don't recommend spinning a 408 past that.

What heads would you recommend for this build? It'd be nice to stay on pump gas but i'm open to mixing race gas concentrate to get 100 octane if a little bit of a bump in compression is needed.

I'm trying to get 500-550hp at the crank as a minimum. That should get me a mid 10 1/4 which is what i'm trying to achieve from this build. Down the road i'd like to spray it, but for now it's going to be n/a.

also how much money do you think I should have set aside for a build like this?

I'm also a bit confused as to how aggressive of a cam I would need to hit 550hp. Sometimes cam specs are a bit confusing to me, however I would like to run a carb or one of those efi self learning systems seem pretty cool too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old December 19th, 2015, 10:11 AM
Powered by LSx tears

Location: Where the rays of light shine through my Shiner Bock bottle

A few thoughts on this.....

What goal is the most important? Because they don't exactly go hand in hand. What I mean is wanting to turn 7K, making a horsepower goal, and making an ET goal, are not the same thing. You don't need to turn 7K to make 550 hp, and you don't need to turn 7K or make 550hp to run mid 10s.

It takes a good set of heads to make power all the way to 7K with that displacement. Something like the TEA TF high ports.