Forums at Modded Mustangs

Forums at Modded Mustangs (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/)
-   5.0 Mustangs (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/5-0-mustangs/)
-   -   on3 turbo on stock 5.0 (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/5-0-mustangs/604569-on3-turbo-stock-5-0-a.html)

maxgst June 14th, 2016 03:06 PM

on3 turbo on stock 5.0

Hey everybody, im doing some maintenance in preparation for on on3 turbo kit.

I have the engine out of the car, and will upgrading head gaskets, all the gaskets in the engine, and head bolts.

I will also replace the oil pump, rear seal, and upgrade the clutch while I have the engine out.

What else should I upgrade for a reliable 380-400 hp car?

Im new to the 5.0's and have been doing some research. The engine is out of a 1987 so its speed density right? What would I need to do to to convert to maf?

And what do I need to be able to have a tuner tune my stock ecu?

nxcoupe June 16th, 2016 05:54 PM

You need an A9L computer and an ebay mass air harness. Get the one that comes with three extra wires and really good instructions. The ones that come with just the maf plug are garbage.
Use 9333 PT1 head gaskets, nothing else. Use ARP head STUDS, not bolts, since you are doing this. I wouldn't have thought it necessary, but you're being thorough and I like that.
Any good tuner can tune the car once you get that done. Do the tuner a favor and don't buy their POS maf they sell with the crap welded on bung. Buy a ProM 3" protube calibrated for your injectors. You should probably be running 42's which aren't hard to find.
You also want to replace your fuel pump with a GSS340 walbro pump or something larger.

ranger56528 June 28th, 2016 01:36 AM

PMAS HPX slot style is the MAF you need or something like it.

---------- Post added at 10:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:30 PM ----------