Forums at Modded Mustangs

Forums at Modded Mustangs (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/)
-   96 - 04 (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/96-04/)
-   -   Coolant change/ flush (https://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums/96-04/308145-coolant-change-flush.html)

guitarpro1992 July 18th, 2013 10:34 AM

Coolant change/ flush

So the last thing on my list to do Maintanence wise to my 03 is to change and flush the coolant. The car only has 40k miles but I'm not sure if the coolant is original. It could possibly be 10 years old. There are no heating or Cooling issues at all but I figure it is probably a good time to change it. From what I have read I need to remove the drain plug on the passenger side. Then I fill the reservoir with hose water and let it run for a but until only clean water comes out? Any tips to this or things to add? This is my first time Changing coolant. Also is prestone 50/50 all makes and models alright to use for coolant? Seems easy to use since its premixed

T-Lee. 30 July 18th, 2013 10:52 AM

MG2V July 18th, 2013 11:22 AM

^ Yup.

1. Pull plug on lower passenger side of radiator and completely drain old coolant.

2. Take garden hose and fill expansion tank with water. Keep hose running just enough to keep reservoir filled. This can be tricky because you have to have the water running enough to keep the reservoir full, but not too much to overflow with water.

3. Start car and let run for 5-10 minutes or until clear water starts coming out.

4. Shut off car and let water completely drain out. The expansion tank should be empty now, but there's still hard water in the lines. So grab a couple gallons of distilled water, start the car again, and pour in water with car running. This will flush the nasty hard water from the hose with distilled water.

5. Shut car off and let water completely drain. Put plug back in.