Need opinions (Job related) - Forums at Modded Mustangs

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old April 19th, 2011, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Need opinions (Job related)

So I am currently an application support analyst and have been with the same company for almost 6 years now. I make a decent living and the job is very secure for right now.

I got a job offer from a friend who works at another company that needs an on site computer technician (which i am quaified for). Here are the pros and cons that i can think of taking a new job right now in this economy.

Pros:
1. $5000/yr pay increase (i havent gotten a pay raise in 2 years at my current job)
2. More freedom
3. Travel is involved
4. Get a company car

Cons:
1. I dont know how secure this job is (the company is a nationwide company and has offices all around the US)
2. Longer hours
3. More time away from my wife

I know it would be an awesome opportunity for me, but I need the opinions of my fellow MM'ers.

2004 3.9L Vert (sold)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old April 19th, 2011, 11:36 AM
ˇʇsnq ɹo uʍop ǝpısdn

Location: Looking for free hand jobs in poland springs nebraska... silly gooses

in my opinion family takes a priority over work. My dad works far away and I never really saw Him much over the later years of my teenage life.

thats just my thought on the situation though.

eff it, bought a wrx, finally.
post #3 of 15 Old April 19th, 2011, 11:43 AM
Retired MM Ninjas

Send a message via AIM to FM1R Send a message via MSN to FM1R Send a message via Yahoo to FM1R Send a message via Skype™ to FM1R
Craig, six months ago I would have told you to take the offer. I was all about making more money, and climbing the corporate ladder at any costs. Since then I have learned what is really important, and that is enjoying what you have with the people you love. You have job security, you get to spend time with your wife, so it's not a hard decison.