Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was thinking of getting a motor swap before I do any major performance upgrades. I'm not tech savvy when it comes to vehicles. I know how to change tires, oil, and brakes that's about it. So anything I discuss I would need my friend to do it but he would do it a lot cheaper then a mechanic. Without the mechanical work in mind if possible I'd like some pricing too.

1. The main thing I want is a new engine. I read up on a few posts and see that either the 302 or the 351W (Windsor) are good options. Or the 351C (Cleveland?) being one of the best options but also more expensive. I do want to swap into a 4V, 5.0L or 5.4L engine (I heard 5.0L would be best because of the weight difference generally makes up for the power difference). What are all the components I would need if I bought a crate engine and what's your opinion on the better option? And are there any performance parts like a supercharger (Blower?) that would be compatible with my next engine if I decided to get that first.

2. I started thinking that an exhaust system would probably be the best first option since it's relatively cheaper then upgrading the engine and it's a performance part that I could get that would be stay with me through the engine swap. Also it could potentially make my car sound a lot more like a beast (I heard flowmaster super 44's are one of the best for that?) or a muscle car in that sense. My one co-worker said I should get an exhaust system without a catalytic converter. I also heard that wouldn't let my car pass emissions (However I know a few mechanics, will probably be able to get him to let me go but then again I thought PA's emissions test is a state test, so is it possible for him to let me go?). What are all the main pieces to an entire exhaust system, should i get a catalytic converter with it, and which parts of the system make the most difference with sound?