Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been thinking about the 03/04 cobra shortblock (because they are cheaper) with my Livernois stage 2's as an option for my car and its mods. Questions i have are.... Is the cobra crank 8 bolt? How would the compression be? Would this be a good build for my mods?

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
im thinking the compression will be to high. Heard someone say that i could just use really thick head gaskets?

·
Registered
3,522 Posts
Cosmetic head gaskets.. And im wandering the same thing.. Seems like it will be the easiest and cheapest route to a built shortblock..

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
i'm pretty sure the 03 cobra's have a 17cc piston b/c they were 8.5 to 1. figure it'll be around stock with a set of PI heads.

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i think it will be 10 sumthing. Just a guess. Im not a pro at figuring this stuff out. I think the stage 2 heads and pistons are going to change things up.

·
Genibus Nitito Canus
2,947 Posts
yes the crank is 8 bolt. i think all the forged modular cranks on the market are 8 bolt

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
^^^ correct... i believe they are 18cc dished.. but 8.5 to 1 is correct also.. just get the cosmetic gaskets and evrything will be ok if your worried?

·
Registered
374 Posts
im not sure but i think with a good low compression 2v piston it shouldnt be much different?

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
4v and 2v pistons are the same!

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
yall have got me more confused now. So tell me this... Would the build still be good for boost?

·
Registered
3,522 Posts
yall have got me more confused now. So tell me this... Would the build still be good for boost?
Wandering the same thing..

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
im still wondering too.

·
Registered
6,139 Posts