Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My Cobra has 57K miles on it and its running good. I still have to replace the air filter but I sprayed the IAC and throttle body so its idling a little better now. Ive got a check engine light which after owning three of these things doesnt surprise me at all. These engines throw codes if the wind blows. Obviously im not a mechanic, so I dont have a diagnostic machine, and I dont know when Ill be able to get it plugged in but until then I wonder if someone who has one of these could tell me what it might be. It runs on 93, daily driven, synthetic oil changes done regularly, everything else under the hood has been there since the car was made. I drive it mildly and it hard shifts obviously with stop-go traffic and 35 mph speed limits but I open it up whenever I can. I planned on getting rid of this car this year but I may have to keep it for another year with the way banks are these days, so i wanna keep it running good. Help appreciated. Thanks

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
nothing we can do without having and knowing the codes. you can stop by your local autoparts store, IE... Autozone, Advanced auto, O'Reilys, etcc..., and they will check it for you for free.

·
Not a Rational Car Guy
38,186 Posts
+1

·
Billy Weston
5,076 Posts
+2

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If I knew what the code was I wouldnt be asking for help. I was just wonderinh if anyone who has an 03 Cobra that hasnt been gutted and put on steroids or tuned in anyway has gotten this before.

·
2009 ROTY
5,646 Posts
mine threw an iac code after i had pulled out this little plastic L in the pvc line to attempt to make my catch can setup look a little cleaner. i put the L back in, and the light has never been back. and i would not consider my cobra "gutted". its just had some suspension work and the egr deleted. but this issue was before the egr was deleted.

·
Billy Weston