Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like some may know, I own a 96 Mystic cobra. I know that the rear bumper, spoiler and roof have been repainted. The hood had just a little bit of oxidation on it but I had it professionally buffed out. So my question is this, how long is mystic paint good for it someone were to wax it at least once every 3-4 months and keeps it outside with a car cover on it most of the time? With my car being a daily driver I'm starting to get more and more concerned about the paint. I know that it's almost 14 years old, but the body and paint on the entire car look really good. But yet, there are some places on the car that is somewhat fading out due to the clearcoat. So should I be somewhat worried about me car and how long will this paint last for until I need to paint the whole car over again? I know this paint isn't like normal paint colors on other solid color mustangs from the factory.. But what is the life on this type of paint? Thanks for the answers.

·
Not a Rational Car Guy
38,186 Posts
If the paint is fine right now like you said then 20 years from now down the road it should be fine as long as it's taken care of.

·
Registered
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks, Lefty. I just didn't know how long the paint lasts with this type of paint on it.

·
I Eat Baby Stangs
3,928 Posts
DON'T wax it too often. probably no more than twice a year. If you want to clean it up, use a quick detailer. Every time you wax, it removes a little bit of the clear coat, so be careful.

·
Registered
663 Posts
DON'T wax it too often. probably no more than twice a year. If you want to clean it up, use a quick detailer. Every time you wax, it removes a little bit of the clear coat, so be careful.
You have this messed up. :) Wax away - it's not going to do anything at all. You can do it daily if you would like.