Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
I have a 2003 supercharged GT, im still learning alot about supercharges and was just wondering what kind of sparkplug/ gap should be used? Im using 11 pounds of boost. Any help will be appreciated!

·
The Mean Green
5,528 Posts
I run NGK TR6 plugs, and I think I put the gap around .35. This is a pretty popular plug of choice for boosted Stangs.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Are those the ones that run about 7 bucks a peice? Are they pronged or any of that crazy stuff? I think im gonna end up going with those, I have heard alot of good word of mouth on them.

·
The Mean Green
5,528 Posts
No the TR6's are just a regular, cooler plug. About $2.00 each. I know you dont wanna run platinum plugs when boosted, but Im not sure on Iridum. :dunno

·
Registered
4,366 Posts
Designed specifically for the performance enthusiast. Iridium IX offers extreme ignitability, improved throttle response and superior anti fouling
  • Fine Iridium tip ensures high durability and a consistently stable spark
  • Iridium alloy has extremely high melting point, perfect for today’s high-tech, high-performance engines
  • “Trivalent Metal Plating” has superior anti-corrosion and anti-seizing properties
  • Outstanding acceleration, high fuel efficiency and durability
  • Ultimate design, technology and performance

·
The Mean Green
5,528 Posts
Platinum plugs (and Iridiums) were introduced to provide longevity (60k-100k+) to vehicles compared to copper plugs which foul after 15k-30k miles, but they do NOT dissapate heat fast enough (which leads to pre-ignition/detonation) and do NOT provide a "better spark" like they have claimed...with their "fine-wire electrode" (which only causes problems).

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8