Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me because I am a newbie to all of this.
I just recently picked up a 2011 Mustang GT convertible.
I have searched these forums and could not find an answer to my questions.
I am looking for frame/suspension mods to help stiffen the convertible up a little. What are some good basic mods that will fit the 2011+ convertibles? I looked at subframe connectors and was sadly disappointed.
I have seen some add ons like the Hotchkiss x subframe brace but dont know if it would do anything to help. I am basically clueless. There are NO plans to turn this vehicle into a drag or autocross car. She is just my summer vehicle "fun" car when I don't feel like taking one of the motorcycles out.
I have also seen the convertible "styling" bars and have read that they do not provide ANY rollover protection. Is there anything available that does? Thanks in advance for helping a newb.

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I would send a PM to Kelly @ BMR here on the site. He'll help you out.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have checked out BMR's website but only find a reference to "cutting out factory bracing" which is not exactly appealing to me.

·
Premium Member
1,379 Posts
I have checked out BMR's website but only find a reference to "cutting out factory bracing" which is not exactly appealing to me.
Out of the vast offering of parts we have, you only saw that we reference to cut the factory bracing out?

Well, that just isn't accurate. You are referring to us stating that the factory bracing needs to be removed (it is bolted in, and you un-bolt it to remove it), in order to use several of our products.

You can keep the weak factory bracing that does not do much, but I am a fan of actually improving the rigidity of the chassis, by using a real bracing system, not a bolt-on bracing system that I can bend over my knee.