Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to driving a manual. I have a 94 Cobra. When I want to accelerate quickly from a light around town. I start in first, quickly shift to 2nd and accelerate to about 50mph and shift directly into 5th. Well when I do this it always grinds 5th until the rpms come down to about 2500k. Am I doing something wrong? Any advice? Thanks much :)

·
Registered
321 Posts
I think it has something to do with the synchros. Mine does the same thing

·
!FACEPLATED!
15,305 Posts
its the shifter. get a shifter like an MGW or steeda tri ax and you wont have the problem anymore

·
!FACEPLATED!
15,305 Posts
then theres no way you should be missing third. the shifter has built in centering springs. something must be wrong with your shifter

·
Premium Member
2,153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
then theres no way you should be missing third. the shifter has built in centering springs. something must be wrong with your shifter
Well In going from 2nd to 5th. Skipping 3rd and 4th. Cuz I am up to about 50mph and at the point I just want to cruise

·
Resident Headbanger
2,428 Posts
Instead of accelerating all the way to 50mph in 2nd, you could shift at 30mph into 3rd and shift at 40mph from 3rd to 4th.

·
Registered
609 Posts
i got it.....dont shift from 2nd to 5th..problem solved

·
Registered
609 Posts
in all my years of driving a stick, i cant think of a time where i went from 2nd to 5th...often time 2nd to 4th, but not directly to 5th...

·
Registered
6,139 Posts
in all my years of driving a stick, i cant think of a time where i went from 2nd to 5th...often time 2nd to 4th, but not directly to 5th...
what he said

·
Registered
144 Posts