Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok.......im new to all this mustang stuff. I picked up an 89 notch with a 306, upper and lower Trick Flow intake, E cam, and a bbk cold air intake. My car is also running air density instead of the mass air. I also have an s-trim vortec i would like to put on and just wondering what else i would ahve to add to make this work or is it just a bolt on? looking to run 6lbs boost jsu to start. I know i will ahve to increase fuel. I have been reading and it seems putting in some bigger injectors is the way to go and not the FMU. I have a set of 42# i can use.

·
Banned
3,385 Posts
You'll need a tune with those 42lb injectors if not your driveability will be complete **** but there good injectors and can handle a bunch of power. The FMU some skate by with but I wouldn't suggest using it if you have the injectors.. the fmu is more of a bandaid for inadequate injectors

I'd look into upgrading the fuel pump asap with that s trim going on.. and being speed density your going to have to convert over to mass air which isn't that hard but requires a computer from a maf car example a9l or a9p etc. Change a few pins around on the wire harness etc

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So first off ill have to work on moving over to mass air which i have most the parts for already. And the stock computer can be flashed for the 42lbs? or am i going to have to switch to some aftermarket efi system? I may even have to a9l comp (have a 2nd mustang). Am i able to swap out the mass air meter and swap out the comp or is it a bigger job then it sounds?

·
Banned
3,385 Posts