Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 149 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How is it possible that a car with one of the biggest v6 engines on the market only puts out around 200 hp? Untill 2011 the mustangs were way underpowered for the engine size why did ford not do anything to make the most out of good engines. What could be done to make these cars have around 300 hp without f/i. maybe its just me who thinks its weird that japanese cars have v6s and are close to 300 horses stock. I just would like to know everyones opinions because im far from an expert.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Nopeee i agree, i talk with some of my friends who have like Evo 9's and they crank out like 300 or something out of like a 2.5L inline 4 and im just like dude wtf i have a 4 L v6! and get like less than 200! I wonder about that too but idk if it is possible to get to 300 without F/I. I mean with duals, a CAI and a good tune ur looking at like idk 30 ish hp? idk im just estimating but if u like stroke it or something ur mods give u more power, or atleast i read that. But i agree completely underpowered for their size.

·
Banned
12,740 Posts
Hello:

Ford had no reason to make a 300hp v6 then, it would have been very odd with with the 4.6 3v GT around the same power.

And the EVO is the turbo pride of mitsubishi, the rest of the imports are high compression 4v motors, like the 3.7L v6!

·
Registered
92 Posts
Hello:

Ford had no reason to make a 300hp v6 then, it would have been very odd with with the 4.6 3v GT around the same power.

And the EVO is the turbo pride of mitsubishi, the rest of the imports are high compression 4v motors, like the 3.7L v6!
haha yea after i posted that i was like, oh yea the evo's have a huge turbo but yea i guess it makes sense with the whole v8 thing, its just such a massive v6 thats underpowered i guess is what he means.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
4.0 was a 2v sohc
3.7 is a 4v dohc with twin variable timing and DI