Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hell all,

I just became a new owner of a decent '65 coupe. She has a 302 w/ a couple bolt ons. I want to do an EFI swapout so I have a slew of questions. Please help.
1. Where and what year can I get a 5.0 HO?
2. What kind of things should I be on the look out for?
3. How do I do the conversion?
4. How much should it run me?
5. What size rearend and what gears?

... and off subject... I'm about to start tearing into her this weekend. I'm going to put here in the air and really start inspecting. My first plan of attack in my restmod is to pull the engine/tranny. I want to clean and paint the engine bay and undercarriage. I'm a mechanic, but an acft mech in the USAF. I'm mechanically inclined, but I've never worked on cars. What basic tools should I get to to clean and paint the bay and underbody? And what cleaners, solvents, degreasers, paints, primers should I use?

Sorry for the long write up and I've done a sh*t ton of research, but I just need some help here. Thanks!!!

·
Registered
728 Posts
Hey bud welcome, first order of business you are tackling lots of separate things here, I can sense your excitement, which is cool, but my first recommendation would be for you to break up your questions into separate threads. Stick to the 5.0 swap in this thread, and if need be create new ones for the other topics, ie paint and prep, and another for the rear end. There have been tons of threads done on the 5.0 swap so run some searches first.

What should you be on a lookout for, well:

There were two Electronic Fuel Injection types for the 302 the early speed-density based EFI systems were fitted on all engines through 1988 after which year it was replaced by a mass-air type measuring system. Stay away from the speed density donor cars, so look for something 1989 and up.