Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading some post on another website and this guy stated

"The next thing i'd go for is a new muffler or exhaust system. The v6 muffler is very very restrictive and replacing it with a better muffler can free 5-10 horsepower. Many people convert to dual exhaust but performance wise it doesn't show any gain over a good single muffler "

Im wondering if this is true, cuase i have a flowmaster muffler sitting in my garage till i get the money for a whole new exhuast sytem.

·
Registered
806 Posts
I was reading some post on another website and this guy stated

"The next thing i'd go for is a new muffler or exhaust system. The v6 muffler is very very restrictive and replacing it with a better muffler can free 5-10 horsepower. Many people convert to dual exhaust but performance wise it doesn't show any gain over a good single muffler "

Im wondering if this is true, cuase i have a flowmaster muffler sitting in my garage till i get the money for a whole new exhuast sytem.
prolly true on the 05+, but not the 99-04.

·
MM's Official Lucifer
4,081 Posts
Agreed. It's just like CRC MAF cleaner stating "Instant 5-7 Hp At the Wheels!"

Take any and all number claims with a grain of salt. Each vehicle, even the same model and year will differ slightly. I'd wait for the whole system to go in rather than work on it twice.

·
Registered
2,482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah if it were manufactuer i would have ignore it but this came from a fourm post directed at 99-04 mustangs. The guy goes on to list some correct information about differnt subjects(cais, tuners, ect)

·
Registered
198 Posts
All I can tell you is that I my I had stock exhuast on my car when I first bought it. I put shorty headers with true dual exhaust with flowmaster mufflers and an h pipe and with a cai and i noticed a big difference in ecceleration

·
MM's Official Lucifer
4,081 Posts