Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the whole ford game. I got my mustang over a year ago. It's a 4.6 all stock as of right now. Just came into some money and wanting to make this thing something to be proud of. What stroker kit would be best for it if I went that route. I have seen alot of these 5.4 swaps which to me sounds like the best idea bigger motor and all. Also to me when I see a 5.4 swap what comes to mind is a f150 motor. Would that motor fit in the mustang?? Just a few question I would like to get answered so I can get this show on the road.

·
Registered
2,365 Posts
yea get a 5.4 it will be a lot cheaper and easier than a stroker for your 4.6. grab a cheap running 5.4 out of an expedition or f150 and youll be all set. oh and as far as fitting in a mustang it will fit no problem but use this intake to make sure order_page

·
Priest of the Car Gods
17,313 Posts
Either one is a lot of work, and not something to be undertaken lightly.

Without other mods, the stroker kits just aren't worth the money, in my opinion. You're talking maybe a gain of 20-30hp after probably $2k in parts and an entire bottom end rebuild.

Same deal with the 5.4s. If you're gonna do a whole build, they're a better way to go, but the only performance 5.4s are the DOHC versions found in the Ford GT and the GT-500s. Either one will NOT be cheap.

My suggestion would be to either look at the Trick Flow heads, or a supercharger. If the car is totally bone stock, I'd also look at some suspension mods.

All in all, it really depends on how you want to use the car.

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
is there not 740,228,016 threads on this 5.4 ****? I think there is 203,665 on the 1st page.

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
^^^^ bahahahhahaha.. im not even gonna post in this one.. im tired of seeing 5.4 threads.. almost catching up with the gear threads :eek:

·
Registered
1,278 Posts