Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,i'm still new to the whole Mod Motor scene and my 99 GT is an automatic.well i come from owning a butt load of foxbody mustangs and all of them 5-speeds.I miss the fun of banging gears to be honest so I went on a 5speed swap hunt for my 99 and found one at a good deal with almost everything I need to do the swap but I was wanting to know while looking at a USED tranny how i can tell if it's good or not? in the old foxbody T-5's you could pull the plate and check inside or just move the input shaft and tell if it had problems.are these the same way? just wondering while inspecting a used tranny what to look for. thanks for any advice.

·
Premium Member
9,751 Posts
just go to your local track or local mustang website.

there are just as many guys (probubly more at your local track) that want to go manual to auto, you shouldn't have any trouble finding someone to swap you straight accross & then you can just drive the stick car before the swap so you know the trans is good.

·
Registered
4,531 Posts
I agree with casper.. its almost impossible to inspect the synchros without tearing the trans apart or driving the car first. Although they arent that hard to tar apart.

·
Registered
929 Posts
If you have the funds available, I would go through the tranny anyway, before you install it. That way you are starting fresh.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
just go to your local track or local mustang website.

there are just as many guys (probubly more at your local track) that want to go manual to auto, you shouldn't have any trouble finding someone to swap you straight accross & then you can just drive the stick car before the swap so you know the trans is good.