Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new here but not new to Stangs.

I'm putting an 8.8" out of an '07 GT/CS (3k miles) into my '06 V6 manual.

I've got the Cobra pinion flange and I know how to set the pinion bearing preload (if I could only find a cheap 1/4" torque wrench!).

The 8.8 has UCAs, calipers & rotors still on it.

I'm a shadetree mechanic with power, air, and rattle gun. I have help. My question is: how long should this take?

Are the LCA & UCA the same for the V6 as the GT?

I need a new differential housing bushing, so I was thinking I'd just buy the Prothane rear control arm kit (Prothane 6-312) that includes the differential bushing and install them all.

I was thinking of throwing in a pair of KYB gas-a-justs at the same time since I'll be back there anyway.

Thoughts and comments encouraged, wise-ass comments encouraged. :) If you have any links to someone that's already done the swap, please feel free to share.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks man. I found MM when 07StangGT (Rich) told me about it. I got my C&L from him.

·
Registered
1,886 Posts
A rear diff with air tools shouldn't take any longer than 2 hrs. I'm not sure if the driveshaft flanges line up though. (If they're different GT-V6)

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks. Yes, I did the swap a couple weeks ago and actually used that guide a little bit.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
The guide or the new rear axle?

The guide helped a little bit with torque values.

The rear end helped a lot. Now when I launch, I can get a little wheel spin and hook up instead of having one wheel go up in smoke and have to lift.

The 3.55 helped move 1-2 gears closer together. I think 3.73 would be ideal for the street, but I can drive around the 3.55. I couldnt' drive around the chasm between 1-2 with the 3.31.

·
Registered
106 Posts