Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the stang world but I already have the fever. I have a basicly stock 89 LX. It has a cold air intake with 65mm throttle body, Long tube headers, and Magnaflow exhaust. New t-5 WC. My question is, I want to put a nasty cam in it but I have heard that the ford motorsports B and E 303 are outdated. Can someone point me in the right direction. Also, I have stock heads so i want to know how much lift i can feasibly obtain without kissing the pistons. also have a gt-40 lower intake sitting on the shelf. Is there any aftermarket uppers that will bolt up to it. Thanks

·
Registered
301 Posts
hey. before you think about cam, get some gt-40 heads, then go with the F303 cam. the B and the E in just my opinion dont cut it from stock camshaft for the money you pay.

As you start getting more mods, the camshaft will start to "kick in" more.

·
Registered
334 Posts
If you're just looking for a nasty lope, you can look into some of the abc cams. I don't know if there are any that don't require valve spring upgrades.

On a stock 5.0 you're not going to see much from a cam, you're actually likely to lose some low end power.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks. you got any idea what lift will work under stock heads. I was told that the stock heads on these were E7TE or something like that and that they were pretty good heads to begin with.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
if you want to install a cam with stock heads you are only going to gain a little bit of HP
with stock heads.you are much better off installing aftermarket heads.stock E7s make peak airflow at only .450 lift and it really doesnt flow that well.in the least you should get a pair of gt40 heads from a 5.0 explorer to take advantage of a cam.

·
Registered
301 Posts
everyone on here will recommend doing other stuff before you Cam it, but if you HAVE to get a cam before anything else, get an E303.

·