Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Wished my car was done.
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a question, i'm not new to mustangs but i am new to 5.0. What can i do to my 94 GT to gets some more power and a lil better fuel mileage?

·
Wished my car was done.
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I meant like getting it tuned or something. Would a CAI help any? Turn the ignition timing up? I am not trying to make a super fast car out of it. Just give it a little more juice.

·
Registered
594 Posts
CAI may help a little bit.
I would just take out the rubber silencer on the air filter part. Gives significantly better airflow.

The timing won't really do much either. The timing changes depending on RPM and driving conditions anyway.

Some cheap ways to improve gas mileage are weight reduction, change the fuel filter, use fuel injector cleaner regularly, and switch to a synthetic/semi-synthetic oil. Cleaning the MAF helps as well if it hasn't been done in a while.

·
Wished my car was done.
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
CAI may help a little bit.
I would just take out the rubber silencer on the air filter part. Gives significantly better airflow.

The timing won't really do much either. The timing changes depending on RPM and driving conditions anyway.

Some cheap ways to improve gas mileage are weight reduction, change the fuel filter, use fuel injector cleaner regularly, and switch to a synthetic/semi-synthetic oil. Cleaning the MAF helps as well if it hasn't been done in a while.
Alright, well i'll check the MAF meter one day this week and see if it dirty.
Would having the EGR block off and the smog pump disconnected affect my fuel economy?

·
Resident Headbanger
2,419 Posts
Would having the EGR block off and the smog pump disconnected affect my fuel economy?
No, but getting rid of both with associated pipes/valves would clean up the engine bay quite a bit.
Easy things you can do to gain some power:

Remove air silencer & MAF mesh screen