Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off let me say i am not looking to take this to the track, I just want a car that has power but still able to use it as a DD in the summer. I just had to put a new motor in it and everything is stock other than a plenum and i have a program in it from Bama. I have a Performance intake sitting in the garage and want to put some better heads on it, I don't want top of the lines heads just some that will give me some more juice, Can anyone point me in the right direction for heads??

After further thinking i would really like to pick up a 302 motor someplace and drive the 4.6 till it pukes and build the 302 up and drop it in. What transmission would i need to hook up if i did go the 302 route? I am not a mechanic by any means but have buddy's that are and i myself am very interested in learning..Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated. I really do not want to pull the motor to put new heads on it as the motor in it now has less than 1000 miles.

·
Premium Member
14,288 Posts
your hole posts almost negates itself.......

you would need to swap the trannsmission

·
Rollin' 18/ pushin' 2
8,333 Posts
Why build the motor if your ultimate goal is to swap it for a 302? It seems like a waste of money to put anything into something that you don't really want.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Why build the motor if your ultimate goal is to swap it for a 302? It seems like a waste of money to put anything into something that you don't really want.

That's essentially what i am asking, Should i go ahead and build the motor up a little or would i be better off trying to find a 302 and drop in it for power?It seems everyone i talk to laughs when i tell them that the motor is a Modular motor. I have even had mechanics refuse to work on it saying that working on the modular motor is a PIA and waste of time? How hard is a head swap on one of these?

·