Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all,

I'm new to moddedmustangs and mustangs period so I thought I would post about my experiences.

Well my name is Evan, I served 5yrs in the USN as a helicopter mechanic, and am now serving in the USNR in a Civil Affairs unit. My car history is;
96 Honda Civic swapped and turbo'd, 91 BMW 323, 89 Mazda RX7 Turbo, 95 Nissan 240sx swapped and turbo'd, 85 Toyota Landcruiser, and now my 99 Mustang GT! Oh and I've owned countless motorcycles ending with an 05 GSX-R 750.

So recently I purchased my first domestic vehicle ever! my black 35th Ann. 99 GT. So far I am very happy with my purchase, I picked it up needing engine work for $3000 with 114k miles. It came with an unknown brand CAI, Bassani 2 Cat Xpipe, Flowmaster Catbacks, Eibach lowering springs (my guess would be 1" and 1.5"), Mach1 system, and billet grill.

Problems include:
3 bad cops (not anymore thanks to B0B)
Wasted CATS on the Xpipe
Massive Exhaust leak with stock H-pipe installed (for smog)
Alternator light is on but alternator checks 5.0
I'm assuming some fouled plugs(not anymore thanks to...new plugs)
Car came with some 20" chrome wheels 3 of which are wearing 245/35's while 1 is wearing a 240/30 that is backward rotating!

So I'm going to tell what my plans are, I will be listing them in order of priority. oh and I'm unemployed with a family so budget is an issue. please provide any opinions or advice pertaining to getting my car in tip top shape.

1. replace ALL cops hopefully finding some good ones at a local wreckyard (new plugs ofcourse) (DONE!)

2. Keep working on my exhaust leak (everytime I mess with it, it gets a little better)

3. full fluid change w/ royal purple

4. Get rid of the CHROME 20's that came on the car hopefully w/ some 18x9 and 18x10 black saleens which I will be custom painting a red lip onto.