Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*** EDITED to incorporate full story of what happened to help explain.

Initially after purchasing these rims (stock) i decided i wanted to paint them black with a red pinstripe. So i removed the tires that were on them and got to work. I sanded the rims down with 220 grit or something around there, and primed the rims. I shot the black paint (dupli color high gloss black engine enamel) and initially everything was good, but because i was a paint novice, i tried using all the paint in the can leading to the paint shooting awkwardly out of the can leaving little spots of paint on the finish. I then, let the rims sit for about a month because of lack of time, and then i wetsanded the paint with 800 grit sandpaper, and applied another coat of black paint. The finish was exactly how i wanted it, and all was great! I continued to tape off the rim so i could add the red pinstripe to the rims. I convered the majority of the rim with newspaper, and taped the rest off with blue painters tape. I shot the red, and upon removing the newspaper and tape i see that my gooddamn tape job wasnt good enough and i got a decent amount of red overspray on the face of the rims. So, i was told, i needed to wait for the rims to cure, and then i could wetsand the overspray off. So thats what i did. I left the red lip untouched and took care of the overspray by wetsanding the entire rim with 1500 grit. Then instead of respraying another coat of black paint, i though i could get away with just spraying the clear coat, because in theory, and in talking to some people, it should have worked. The clear was autmotive catalyst clear from a profession paint shop. So i sprayed the clear on the rims, but due to what i guess was solvent popping, the clear went on extremely bubbly and nasty. (For some stupid ass reason i sprayed all 4 rims with this clear, even though i saw how it was reacting badly