Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Just joined and my 4.6 in my 1998 gt started knocking a few days ago just after loosing oil pressure for a few seconds. Iv been looking at swap options and i think im going to go with a 5.4 2v. I know i need to reuse my oil pan, manifolds, and intake from the 4.6. What else do i need? Im trying to do the swap as cheap as possible. Its a manual car to start with. So i know i need a pilot bearing. What size flywheel do i need? Can the stock computer run the 5.4? I know i have to cut my hood or get a new one. Any tips or ideas? Probably going to get the engine from my local pick and pull. Any other misc stuff i should grab while im getting the engine?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This is my first build and i dont know what im doing really. I went from a 1986 f250 with the dirty old 460 in it to this mustang. So any advice is welcome haha

·
King Trashmouth
21,891 Posts
You will want to swap over the oil pan and manifolds. The intake will not swap over since the 5.4 is wider, but all you have to do is swap over the plenum/throttle body. The intake tube might need some adjustment if you're using the stock airbox, otherwise an aftermarket CAI probably wouldn't require much. The exhaust will have to be changed up to meet the new exhaust manifold locations. Whatever dipstick option you go with, make sure it matches the calibration of the pan.

For clearance, you may not need to get a cowl hood, though it's the most elegant option. You can space the hood or just space out the k-member to get additional clearance for a more stock look.