Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to v8's so i dont really know what sizes are apropriate for exhaust. but im trying to figure out what size exhaust piping im going to need on an n/a 4.6 2v. going to be full straight piped with an x pipe. otherwise theres going to be no resistance to the exhaust gasses. theres 3 options i have of running right now. 2.5", 2.75", and 3" i could go bigger or smaller but thats just what i was aiming for.

2.5"- is it too small for the amount of air the engine is going to be pushing out? i dont want a ton of back pressure.
2.75"- dead center of the 3 sizes. only concern is it could be too small for the engine and still be too much back pressure.
3"- not sure but i know 3" is way too big for N/A on 4 cyls no idea on v8s though?

im not aiming to be loud im aiming to get the best performance out of it.

·
Banned
7,007 Posts
Are you building your own exhaust or piecing together aftermarket exhaust?

Anyway... go with 2.5 all the way back. These engines don't have the cubic inches to benefit from 3" exhaust. Almost all aftermarket exhaust pieces for our cars are 2.5".

Best power gain will be from switching out the midpipe. Go o/r (no cats) if you can get away with it in your state.

Also, it's going to sound like **** with straight pipes and you're not going to gain much (if any) HP from it. Go with a nice aftermarket muffler. With the Xpipe I'd go with a straight through muffler like an SLP LMII, Borla Stingers, or Magnaflow Magnapacks

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Are you building your own exhaust or piecing together aftermarket exhaust?

Anyway... go with 2.5 all the way back. These engines don't have the cubic inches to benefit from 3" exhaust. Almost all aftermarket exhaust pieces for our cars are 2.5".

Best power gain will be from switching out the midpipe. Go o/r (no cats) if you can get away with it in your state.