Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,604 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Jazzer and other autocross guys get in here!!!

I need new pads on the front like freaking craaaazy. I feel like I have zero stopping power right now.

I'm on a budget though, and I've never done brakes before in my life so I don't know if pad installation is something I wanna tackle or just take to a buddy.

What pads do you guys think are the best bang for the buck?

My budget for everything is going to be about $120.

·
Registered
21,024 Posts
How are your rotors? Are they chewed up from worn pads? I would go with Hawk HPS pads. Ive heard good things from them.

·
Abyssinian of AX
7,994 Posts
NoCo.... just peep the Brakes Upgrade thread.... has EVERYTHING you need to know, silly boy :D

Jazzer :)

·
Registered
4,604 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good to see you Jazzer...you like disappeared for a while man!

Sean, my rotors aren't too bad. I'll upgrade when I have the money to do a big brakes package but, I can't right now. That's funny what you said about the Hawk pads though, I've actually never heard nothing but bad stuff about their pads! I may have to go read some more reviews.

Louver, how are the OEM pads? Mine were slightly warn when I got the car so I never felt them new.

·
Abyssinian of AX
7,994 Posts
OEM pads are no where near as good as what you can run :(

What bad things have you heard about Hawk? I run the HPS up front and have zero complaints. They make NO noise, minimal dust and have great stopping powa :yes

Peep my guide, spend about $300 and have better brakes than 90% of the pepes reading this thread*

Jazzer :)

*not better than a Kitty :no

·
MoM Fanatic
5,056 Posts
agree with casper i upgraded to cobra brakes in the front and it makes a huge difference. uh if on a budget you may try the severe duty brake pads. i bought a set for the track but i havent tried them yet i cant wait for july!

·
Registered
224 Posts