Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it necessary because i just blew my last one. it was a polk db 12" 360 watts rms. i was pushing about 300 rms and one day it just died. should i have broken it in or do you think it was just faulty?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
you were running the proper rms, som im going to guess it was either faulty or old. When i boughtmy subs i used them very carefully for about the first week or so then turned it up, its been about 2 years now and still good to go. 2 alpine 10" type R's. They are 500watt RMS each and ive been running 1000Watt RMS to both for 2 years

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
make sure your wiring it correctly for the ohm load. ;)

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
:withhomo and yes you should break it in. you should play it at about moderate level for at the very least 30 hours (not continuous), about 2 weeks worth. This is what I was taught by several company representitives. breaking in allows the spider, which is a part of the speaker that helps maintain linear movement of the voice coil, to maintain control over the entire cone movement.

Reactions: Big C

·
Registered
812 Posts
+1 on the two weeks, if you have ever smelt a funny smell with a new sub, that is the voice coil breaking in, my 2 12'' W3's stunk up my car like a mofo, which is normal, you can set your bass levels down a bit just to be safe too

·
Registered
51 Posts
Hmm, never heard of breaking in a sub, but I'm no industry expert. What can blow a sub is distortion, not overpowering. Speakers don't like clipped sound waves and can cause overheating of the coils. Make sure the ohm rating is what the amp can handle so you're not overworking the amp.

Are the 2 subs in series or parallel? Are they 4ohm rated?

·
Premium Member
10,592 Posts