Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I wanna SPRAY!
7,461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok If I try too buy a vehicle and I plan to do a trade in but i'm upside down on the trade how is the math figured up on the final sale? Lets say the vehicle stickers at $40,000 and I get a $5,000 rebate, plus an offer of $8,000 for my trade but I owe $12,000 on my current vehicles loan how is the final sales numbers figured up? Does it go like my first example or second?
Sorry i'm a newb at this and need some help. Thanks!

Example #1
Sticker price=$40,000
rebate= -$5,000
Trade Offer= -$8,000
Money owed on Trade= +$12,000
Total sales price without taxes or other fees. = $39,000

Example #2
Sticker price=$40,000
rebate= -$5,000
Trade Offer= -$8,000
Money owed on Trade= +$4,000
Total sales price without taxes or other fees. = $31,000

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
It'd have to be the first one.. Otherwise they're essentially paying you 4000$ for a vehicle that isn't worth what you owe.

·
Registered
4,464 Posts
Yup, #1. The title crack me up. This is the latest garbage I've heard spewed from a used car dealers mouth. My brother in law looks under the car and see ~1/2 qt of oil ALL over the place. He says "thanks, but I'll pass", the car salesman asks whats wrong and he mentions the oil. The salesman say Oh, no, we clean all the cars, maybe its armorall, let me see. The salesman is reluctant to lie on his back and slide under the car to see the oil. Then he says.... we can clean it up and seal it up with some sealant! hahaha, dumbass!

·
Registered
3,419 Posts
This is called rolling negative equity. You're flipped in your current vehicle, so the negative equity will carry to the new vehicle. You will more than likely be flipped in the new vehicle since your adding another 4k to the loan without adding 4k of value to the car. It's a very hard cycle to get out of unless you keep a car long enough to pay it off, it gets totaled, ect.

·
The Boss is in
23,756 Posts