Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 03 V6 5spd with 111000 and change on it, lately hasn't wanted to go in reverse as easy as it should, I have to force it in to gear sometimes with the clutch all the way on the floor, and until recently it was just reverse. Sunday night I was taking my girlfriend home and I couldn't find 3rd at all, I had to shift from 2nd to 4th, so I'm thinking its just the clutch but could it be something else? If it is the clutch, how hard is it to replace? I've done a lot of engine rebuilds, and have a lot of experience working with cars, but I've never done transmission work before, is this something I should take to a pro or can I put it on blocks and do it myself?

·
Not A Regular Member
17,101 Posts
I think the reverse issue is a common problem. I know I sometimes can't get my car into reverse with the clutch pedal at the floor. I have to slowly the let clutch out and pull back on the shifter until it pops into gear.

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Not being able to get into reverse easily is just because it's not synchronized. That's by design and is normal.

Not being able to get into a specific forward gear wouldn't be a clutch problem but rather a problem within the transmission itself. Could be a worn out synchro or something of that sort.

·
Pays in respect
2,891 Posts
I can't find third sometimes because of the stock shifter is crap and I hit the wall and it pops into neutral. But yeah it might be a synchro..

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the tips guys as soon as its pretty enough outside to look at it I will and let you know what I find but its suppose to be raining until this weekend

·
MM's Official Lucifer
4,081 Posts