Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I posted my Mustang problems on the ModdedMustang Facebook Group, but I figured I'd repost my issues here before I take any further action.

My 2001 Mustang will not start after sitting for 3 weeks. I am a college student and did not bring my car with me. I drove it all this summer with absolutely no problems. Left for college and my dad drove the car once of twice. I came back for Thanksgiving break and the car fired up just fine and ran well. Went back to school and just recently came back for winter break. The car had not been driven in that 3 week period. The car cranks just fine but will not turn over.

Battery is good.
Starter is good.
Full tank of gas.
Spark Plugs are firing.
Not PATS
I can hear the fuel pump when I turn the key to the on position.
Just replaced the fuel filter today.

When I replaced the fuel filter (thinking that it may be clogged) I primed the fuel line a good 6 or 7 times before I started her, and when I tried to start her up, she fired up! The car ran semi-rough for about 5 minutes, and then cut out... Like it ran out of fuel.

I am lead to believe that the fuel pump is on its way out and is not creating adequate pressure...

Do you guys think this is correct?
Is my best bet the fuel pump?

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Could the fuel be bad? It could def be the pump but just a thought...
I had about 1/4 initially when the problem occurred. Put fresh gas in it yesterday. Now it has about 7/8 full tanks

+1 ^ but im leaning more towards the fuel pump going out on you did you test the pressure on the fuel rail
Good point, I should do the fuel rail test before anything else!

·
The soul stealing Ginger
5,864 Posts
+1 ^ but im leaning more towards the fuel pump going out on you did you test the pressure on the fuel rail