Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read the sticky, and tried to find more info on the Internet...
I want the Comp 270s as I can get them at warehouse price, now I am a diesel tech, but I am unfamiliar with degreeing cams. Is it that difficult? I was kinda hoping I could just unbolt the old ones, put the new ones in the same place and be done but theres obviously a lot more set up. Any Insight, also would I have to degree these cams too much to avoid PTV? and lose any gains?

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I find that pretty hard to follow, I wish I could just mark the chain and put the new cams in. =(

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Alright, so my other question, are the comp cams 270s a good suit for me?
Or am I going to have to retard the cams so much to avoid PTV that I won't make any more power?

Car will have 70mm TB and Plenum, LT headers, catted H, magnaflow exhaust
and be tuned

·
Registered
678 Posts
You will have to retard the cams to get enough PTV clearance. On my car I think it ended being about 4.5 degrees. I lost a ton of torque with the 270's as well, most of which I blame on having to retard the cams so much. In your case I would go with MHS stage 2 cams and ordered them already degreed.

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Who sells MHS, I am in canada... and order them already degreed? In this case there would be a timing mark I could just line up?

Found out who sells MHS, and they ship to Canada!!

So if these come already degreed then Im sold

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
with those cams (no supercharger) and full bolt ons (minus a Throttle body/plenum) I was making 288 rwhp/ 316 rwtq

·
Registered
656 Posts
The cams come with gears already attached where they need be.. So u just line up ur timing marks and ur good to go

·
Registered
495 Posts
Discussion Starter #10