Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I know this has been covered in general but I want to know what you guys think about my specific case.

So I jacked my rear end up and spun the tire watching the driveshaft (used the yellow mark that was already there).

In one revolution of the tire the driveshaft turned 3 full revolutions and was only 6 inches of tire from 4 full revolutions. to clarify I went 6 inches past my mark on the tire to get 4 revolutions of the driveshaft.

Ummm I have 20inch rims and the tire I was spinning is a 245/35

I'm not too good with math anymore but what I'm thinking is that if the circumference of the tire is about 70" and the circumference of the driveshaft is about 15" that somehow means that I have 3.73's damn it I hate this thinking ****!!! lol! I was totally trying to work it out while typing but didn't work. leavin it for laughs.

so anyways 70"/3.73 is 18.76" and 76"/4 is 19" (thats my wheel circumference + the extra 6inches) then they are 3.73's right???

God Im confusing the hell out of myself! someone please tell me if I'm going about this the wrong way or just confirm whether or not I have 3.73's...

·
Registered
1,446 Posts
it doesn't matter how big your tires/rim are - you just need to make one full revolution of the rear tires. Any/all points along the radius of the wheel will end at one full rev. at the exact same time.

might wanna grab something to make your own marks nice and clear, and try again. Mark the starting point, and ending point of the driveshaft (and obviously making sure to completely rotate the wheel 1 full turn.)

..at that point you can probably 'eye ball' it close enough to get a good guess,,or get fancy and bust out some simple geometry,,,circumference,,,distance between marks,,a little division,,etc etc etc.. :)

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·