Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't driven the car very much because I'm still learning about it. But does the turbo burn oil? I have added oil once , and I might have to add again? . It does throw some smoke. It doesn't over heat. It actually doesn't get all the way to normal operating temp. It's been pretty cold out. So it hangs a little under normal. Is this what they call blow by? I believe some of the oil may be evaporating through the breather filters where the pcv valve used to be. There's a breather filter on each valve cover. And I have seen a little mist coming from the driver side. Haven't paid attention to the passenger side one. Any advice anyone? Sorry for all the questions...

·
Registered
1,442 Posts
alright, lets start from the too. so you bought a car with a turbo on it?

do turbos burn oil? yes they can, if they are getting too much oil. if the proper oil restrictor isn't used it can blow the seals out in the turbo and cause it to burn oil.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
alright, lets start from the too. so you bought a car with a turbo on it?

do turbos burn oil? yes they can, if they are getting too much oil. if the proper oil restrictor isn't used it can blow the seals out in the turbo and cause it to burn oil.
Yes. And everything was fine with it.
It really doesn't do it all the time either.
Maybe my oil weight? I've put 5w20 in it . But I've seen you're supposed to use a heavier weight?

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Oil weight would depend on the tolerances the engine was built with. Normally the engine builder will recommend a weight based on the clearances he built it to.

On a stock 4.6, it's recommend to run 5/30.

·
6 Cylinduh, Really Bruh?
5,218 Posts
I run 6 qts of 5w 30 on my stock engine even tho Ford says 5w20. 5w20 was recommended so ford could say a certain mpg rating but these motors were built around 5w30.