Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is anyone running electric fan and water pump in their foxbody? Just wondering how feasible the choices are for the street as far as both adequate cooling and how long they will last?

·
Registered
4,557 Posts
I did a lot of research on this when I had my 85 ltd and came to the conclusion its really up to the owner. An svt contour dual fan setup is nice but either youll have to tap into the ect harness or add another one. The mechanical fan does a good job as it is so I decided against it.

Ive never run an electrical water pump but I see a lot of people do with good results. I wouldnt trust it on the street but thats just me. For the track its fine though.

·
US Air Force (retired)
13,542 Posts
I don't have a foxbody but I have been running both on my 2000 GT for 11 years. The electric fan is stock. It was replaced somewhere around the 150,000 mile mark. I have around 60,000 miles on the replacement. My first Meizere electric water pump was installed at the 80,000 mile mark. It lasted somewhere around 110,000 miles. I replaced it because of bearing noise. The second lasted around 6000 miles. It was leaking and still under warranty so it was replaced for free. I've run my third electric water pump for about 14,000 miles with no problems. Right now the car is just shy of 210,000 miles.