Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys/gals!!

I'm a teacher and our students are competing in a engineering competition this spring. They are working on a photovoltaic cannon. I'm "just" a 4th grade teacher, but I love science stuff, so I'm calling on you all for help. The object is to propel a ping pong ball as far as possible using only 30 seconds of light. The size restrictions are 30 cms cubed. There can be no other type of potential energy involved (wound-up springs, pressurized tubes, etc).

They got a good solar panel that can produce about 7 volts but only about 400 milliamps. They are working on making a motor wind up a spring with the 30 seconds of light energy, but there is not enough electricity to do so.
They are also trying to make the motor pull down some type of trebuchet (catapult).
They are also trying to hook the motor to a fan that shoots the ball out a tube of some sort. This is what they are currently working on.
Is there some type of electronic device that stores voltage until a certain voltage is reached...like some type of capacitor/relay thing?!? So you could keep building electricity then after 20ish seconds, release it all at one time somehow?!?

Any other ideas?

·
Proud American
11,288 Posts
You can use a rechargeable battery or better yet a capacitor to release the electron flow ( amperage) after it stores for 30 seconds...

·
Registered
10,592 Posts
You're only getting 84 Joules of energy from that solar cell.

What type of lights are being used? Are they LED, CFL, or incandecent? I doubt they're CFLs b/c those take time to get to full brightness and it would be a significant percentage of the given 30 seconds.

If it's LEDs, you're vey limited on what you can do beyond a solar panel. But good thing with LEDs is that they are VERY directional so you can maximize the energy converted.