Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Engine Desroyer
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi im new to mustangs and i've purchased an 04 GT.What is the average gas mileage to a tank of gas,I've added CAI,4.10 gears,70mm throttlebody,fuel filter,ford platinum plugs,msd coils and slp2 exhaust with x/o with sct tuner! Im only getting 170 to 180 miles to a tank!

·
Registered
3,507 Posts
Ive got an 03 GT with CAI, mufflers, and 3.73s, and i get around 300 to the tank city. Is your right foot abnormally large?

·
a.k.a. Racecougar
4,775 Posts
Miles/tank isn't a good means of measuring your actual mileage. It will vary from tank to tank depending on how much fuel you're actually putting in. Instead, reset your trip odometer when you fill the tank. The next time you refill the tank, divide the mileage on the trip odometer by the number of gallons it took to refill the tank to get miles/gallon.

With those mods you should be capable of at least 20 MPG, but it will depend on the condition of the car and your driving style. I average between 22-24 MPG in my '04, with a mix of 40 city/60 highway.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Do you do a lot of highway driving? Try to keep it below 75mph if you want good mpg... Other than that do you what grade of fuel are you using and have you changed the plugs in the car yet?

·
No longer Maching out...
3,368 Posts
I'm getting around 20mpg with mine...you aren't too far off from me, I'd say it's about right if you're driving in the city

·
Registered
11,188 Posts
16-18city and 24-27 highway here. I barley use the ac on the highway too no matter how hot it is. At least 2 members on a different forum said once they put in 4.10s that their gas mileage went down more than what ppl were telling them 4.10s would drain their highway mileage. Its not too bad in the city though maybe even better with gears depending on your driving habits.

·
Full Frontal Nudity
1,725 Posts