Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Blood, Sweat and Gears...
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had my 4.10's installed by a local ford dealership last spring. When I did my LCA's this year I looked at how much I can turn the drive shaft without the axles moving. I think 1/8th turn is to much, but I am no mechanic. I would think you would want some slop for when the diff gets hot and things get tight. I would think it would be a matter of installing more spacers to pick up some of the backlash.. Does anyone have any thoughts?

·
Eat Springs, **** Valves
9,332 Posts
My friend had a similar problem on his Sport Trac. Turns out whoever worked on the rear end last forgot to put a crush sleeve back in before putting everything back together.

·
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How much back lash should I have ?

·
Registered
872 Posts
Unless the rearend is whining on decel or accel, I wouldn't worry about it. Some "slack" is normal.

·
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have clunking when I am driving the car easy.. as long as I have a load on it is quite

·
Registered
623 Posts
I would have them check the backlash, they're going to have to remove the rear diff. cover and attach a magnetic dial indicator to measure it. I find these rears tend to have .008-.010 of backlash. Your going to have some play when you turn the driveshaft because your taking up slack in the backlash, spider gears and other parts of the diff. I don't care what anyone says, these rears start sounding clunky when you start changing gears and LCAs.

·
3v reppin'
3,454 Posts
I had the same problem with my car when I bought it used. If I was driving really easy they clunked around like crazy when I shifted. I had them check and sure enough the backlash was wrong and it couldn't be fixed or it would cause a crazy whine. I ended up getting new gears out of the deal. Thankful for the "Ford Certified" on that window sticker now.

·
Registered
789 Posts