Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i have the gaskets and just need my header gaskets replaced on each side. i called for a quote and was quoted for 390 just for labor. is that a reasonable price? seems steep to me but ive never replaced headers or gaskets plus im a college student.

thanks in advance

·
Registered
4,875 Posts
That's pretty steep to me. Are you near the coast where you get a lot of salt in the air that rusts cars out? Up here in NY shops always charge more than somewhere with no excessive rusting due to salt because everything is tougher to do and things break easier. Even for up here, that seems a bit high priced though. Should be able to get right at the bolts and get everything off pretty easily on a stock fox.

·
Bringing Yellow Back
10,928 Posts
that seems pretty high for something a good shop caould do in an hour

·
Registered
87 Posts
way steep. for sure

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yea i live in the bay area in cali but this shop usually has great deals and do a great job. I have aftermarket headers and I've already had the bolts tightened and the leak continues so I guess I'm gonna have to shop around a little bit

·
Registered
627 Posts
Yea i live in the bay area in cali but this shop usually has great deals and do a great job. I have aftermarket headers and I've already had the bolts tightened and the leak continues so I guess I'm gonna have to shop around a little bit
Its not hard to switch them out. im no mechanic and i figured it out. but think what you could do with the money you would save. that always motivates me to try it myself. i did my clutch myself, and i had never done anything else other that spark plugs, wires, and oil. you can probably do it in one afternoon

·
Registered
156 Posts