Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Help. Car is running like sh!^.

Hey so i did a cam install. started it up today. it starts. it kept dieing and almost dieing, im assuming that part is just because i dont have a tune, but i go to drive it and its so ****ing jerky like i touch the gas and it ****in jerks like im just learning to drive standard or something, anyone know what could be the problem? and if i can fix it just with my SF3 tuner?

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
if your dead sure the timing is right then im going to guess that you DEFINITELY need a tune.

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
it idles fine, its when i start actually driving it.. i dunno what it is. im wondering if theres any like air fuel ratios i can change or what that would make it a bit more managable so i can drive it to a shop

·
Registered
16,245 Posts
tow it... you prolly just need a tune bad. Think about it! that car is totally ****ed from what that computer is trying to do.

·
Premium Member
9,751 Posts
tow it... you prolly just need a tune bad. Think about it! that car is totally ****ed from what that computer is trying to do.
+1^

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
yea u need a tune because right now your car still thinks it has the stock cams in it

·
Not a Rational Car Guy
38,186 Posts
<---Votes Tune.

·
Registered
5,472 Posts
I could see a tune keeping it from running great or idle a little bad, but it shouldn't cause it to be as bad as you describe. I would check for vacuum leaks unplugged connectors like maf, crank position, and cam position sensors.

I changed my cams and drove it 220 miles to my tuners it ran pretty good even before my tune.

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
thanks jivepepper. it was the MAF plug. i also didnt notice that my jlt intake didnt use the stupid plug thats connected to that maf plug either. not sure what it is,

·
Registered
16,245 Posts