Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright all that think this is stupid easy lol.

I am thinking that with 180,000 miles on my Mustang that a Timing chain an gears would be a gook thing to replace.

I've never done anything like this.
So what do I need?
gaskets, sealant, and timing chain kit.
Anything i'm missing?

The timing chain kit i'm looking at is from late model restorations, it's a Comp Cams double chain kit for about $40 bucks.

I need some love on this question.
I'm a D.I.Y. kinda guy but i'm no mechanic and I am working with limited tools and no knowledge of how to do this.

·
Registered
7,599 Posts
Thats a looooottt of work to change a timing chain. I think it would be easier to throw a motor in with less mileage to be honest. The accessories, balancer, and crank pulley all need to come off. Going to need to gaskets for timing chain cover to block, water pump to timing chain cover and I suggest you go to ace hard ware and get new bolts.

If you want I bought arp bolts for a fox body water pump since my stock ones were destroyed when I took em out. Let me know if your interested.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats a looooottt of work to change a timing chain. I think it would be easier to throw a motor in with less mileage to be honest. The accessories, balancer, and crank pulley all need to come off. Going to need to gaskets for timing chain cover to block, water pump to timing chain cover and I suggest you go to ace hard ware and get new bolts.

If you want I bought arp bolts for a fox body water pump since my stock ones were destroyed when I took em out. Let me know if your interested.
Yeah that's alot of work, but I kinda wanna do it. I know I must have something wrong with me.

If I find that I need them and you're selling them for the right price I could be interested. Thanks for the post

·
Registered
4,875 Posts