Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm trying to join the clan with a Mustang but am having a hard time finding one for the right price. The ones in my price range, which is low due to the fact that I'm a college student, all either miles between 65-90,000, or have been in an accident/have a rebuilt title. What is there to do?! Anyone have a S197 with higher miles? how do they hold up? Is buying a car with a rebuilt title a bonehead move? ITS SO TEMPTING!

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
the rebuilt ones may have a tweaked unibody.. other than that any time there is an accident the wiring in car somehow goes to shits things just dont work right but it is all a crapshoot. The only way to really know the extent of the damage is to look under the skin(the body parts).

·
Registered
2,817 Posts
My car has 50k of the hardest miles you will EVER see a car go through. Drive it every single day, has over 400 passes on it at the track too...........VERY tough cars. 07stanggt has 100k miles on his or something like that. Its also one of the fastest naturally aspirated s197 3Vs on the road.

·
Registered
523 Posts
Wow whats funny is I was about to ask the same question. Ive really been looking into a higher milage s197 as a dd. Ive found one with 70k, I know my old 03 gt just kept going and going.

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
the 4.6 is a good long lasting motor

·
Registered
2,012 Posts
70K+ here...

·
Registered
752 Posts
I'm at 62000 with over 30000 blower miles and probably over 250 track passes and about 10 over 1000 mile road trips... I've gone through 1 differential and 1 stock 5R55.... Recently I had a minor accident at the track and luckily it only suffered cosmetic damage... These cars are alot tougher than most expect! Get one.

S197 FTMFW

·
Premium Member
33,198 Posts
if you're afraid of buying one with high mileage, just wait until you can afford one with lower mileage. make a decision you wont regret