Modded Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I dont know much about cams im a noob at that,how do you consider lets say a TFS1 Camshaft is better then a E303 camshaft? What numbers are you looking at to justify one cam is better then the other? Heres the specs..

TrickFlow stage 1

Basic Operating RPM Range 2,000-5,500
Intake Duration at 050 inch Lift 221
Exhaust Duration at 050 inch Lift 225
Duration at 050 inch Lift 221 int./225 exh.
Advertised Intake Duration 283
Advertised Exhaust Duration 291
Advertised Duration 283 int./291 exh.
Intake Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.499 in.
Exhaust Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.510 in.
Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.499 int./0.510 exh.
Lobe Separation (degrees) 112

E303 Camshaft..

Basic Operating RPM Range 2,500-5,500
Intake Duration at 050 inch Lift 220
Exhaust Duration at 050 inch Lift 220
Duration at 050 inch Lift 220 int./220 exh.
Advertised Intake Duration 282
Advertised Exhaust Duration 282
Advertised Duration 282 int./282 exh.
Intake Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.498 in.
Exhaust Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.498 in.
Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio 0.498 int./0.498 exh.
Lobe Separation (degrees) 110

·
I Poop Entirely Way Too Much
8,720 Posts
Its not so much which is better but which is bettter for your application and other mods.

·
Registered
474 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So basically a cam is only good when you have supporting mods?

BBK CAI
BBK 70MM TB
Cobra upper/ported lower
Stock 1990 bottomend
E7's ported (Yea I kno lol)
Crane 1.7's RR
BBK UDP water/crank/alternator
MSD 6al
MSD wires
MSD distru
MSD coil
BBK longtubes
BBK X pipe flowmaster dumped
Alum driveshaft
8.8 with 4.10's

So with these mods what would be the better cam for Nitrous mmm 100 shot so to say...

·
I Poop Entirely Way Too Much
8,720 Posts