Modded Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
?

You do not gain any HP or TQ by installing gears (3.73's, 4.10's, etc), but your car will launch quicker off the line. They are a great mod!

·
Registered
11,188 Posts
there is no horsepower gain from gears. You know on a bicycle how you change the gears on the rear and go to a larger sprocket and its easier to pull off but harder to reach a top speed? Thats what gears do its like going to a larger rear sprocket on a bike makes it easier to launch from the line. No power gained or lossed.

·
Registered
2,508 Posts
yea you dont gain hp at all

·
Nile P. Pezdel of Pez Dispenser Inc. CCA
5,502 Posts
It effectively multiplies torque. It has no effect on engine power output though.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ah understood. Thanks for the clarification, I'm still relatively new to all of this.

I priced the gears at $179 for the Ford racing one's but a mechanic said he couldn't give me a price on the installation at this time...pretty fishy.

What should I expect to pay for installation so I know what to look out for in terms of outlandish $$

·
Registered
11,188 Posts
$275-$350 for install.

·
Registered
121 Posts
yeh you don't gain hp from gears.... -_-

·
5,502 Posts
I spent $500 on gears and install altogether.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
I can afford this no issue, but I don't want to get so deep in this car that when I sell it I lose money.
You might want to reconsider doing anything to your car then. You'll never get back what you put into it.

·
5,502 Posts
If you do one thing to this car, this should be that one thing. You'll appreciate the car 4.10 times more.

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
WOW. I can afford this no issue, but I don't want to get so deep in this car that when I sell it I lose money. That's basically $500 right there with everything.

Damn I guess i'll pass on these.